Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Brighton and Hove Hockey Club


Joe Naughalty voted National League Conference East player of the season

3 months ago By David Chappell

Toby Price also included in team of the season as BHHC is recognised for best ever finish

Two Brighton and Hove Hockey Club players have been voted into the Men's National League East Conference team of the year after the club's highest ever finish - and one of them has been named player of the year.

Joe Naughalty - who was the league's leading scorer with 25 goals - and attacking midfielder Toby Price have been recognised for their outstanding seasons with inclusion in the team. Joe has also been voted the league's player of the year after helping BHHC to finish fourth with his prolific scoring. He finished two goals ahead of former Great Britain international James Tindall, of Old Georgians.

Champions Oxted had three players in the team of the year but failed to win promotion to the Premier Division via the playoffs so will be among Brighton and Hove's rivals again next season. Old Georgians will also be on the fixture list again as they successfully avoided relegation via the playoffs.

Chichester's Polish international goalkeeper Macjec Pacanowksi, who defied Brighton and Hove in the final match of the season, also featured in the team of the year.

Exeter University won the promotion playoffs and will join Sevenoaks, who kept their place, in the Premier League next season. Oxted finished third after losing to Sevenoaks (3-2), beating Nottingham University (2-1) and losing to Exeter (2-1) in the end-of-season competition.

Updated 16:53 - 24 May 2018 by Matt Sale

Where next?

Just the ticket - golden chance for youngsters to receive free coaching BHHC launches initiative to attract local primary school children to hockey
Sussex Cup triumphs for BHHC Victories for Mens 4s and Vets, Women's 1s into final


Loading comments

Book your OPRO mouth guard day!

Mon 3 Dec
Girls and Boys U9 (year 4) Eastbourne
Friendly 12:00


Club sponsors